Friday, March 02, 2007

All but two states have daylight-saving time

I really hate daylight-savings and have heard the excuses for it like energy savings.
The way I see it, you use the utilities in the morning with daylight savings or in the evening without it, so I don’t see that as a valid reason. I was wondering just who is it that decides we have to go on daylight-savings time. I don’t recall it ever being on a ballot. Is there anyone to complain to about it besides my friends, who also hate it?
- Linda Brooks

ANSWER: Daylight-saving time was started in the U.S. in 1918, repealed in 1919, and was standardized through the Uniform Time Act of 1966. Local exemptions were allowed.

Today, DST is in effect throughout the United States with the exception of Hawaii, Arizona (not including the Navajo Nation) and in the territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands and American Samoa. Indiana, with the exception of two counties, did not go on daylight-saving time until 2005.

You and your friends would have to get the Colorado Legislature and the voters of the state to overturn daylight-savings time.


Anonymous zen said...

Daylight savings time rocks... More time to hike & bike after work.

12:30 PM, March 12, 2007  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Crazy white man cut foot off of blanket just to sew it on top of blanket!

5:12 AM, April 03, 2007  

Post a Comment

<< Home